American Civil War Game Club (ACWGC)

ACWGC Forums

* ACWGC    * Dpt. of Records (DoR)    *Club Recruiting Office     ACWGC Memorial

* CSA HQ    * VMI   * Join CSA    

* Union HQ   * UMA   * Join Union    

CSA Armies:   ANV   AoT

Union Armies:   AotP    AotT

Link Express

Club Forums:     NWC    CCC     Home Pages:     NWC    CCC    ACWGC
It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 9:27 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2020 10:36 am 
I've spent some time thinking about the night movement penalty. Being an old programmer I am assuming that the game simply makes a call to a different table during the night turns to check for fatigue penalty. I am convinced that JTS could set up a similar table to be called after a player clicks on a unit and then clicks on a button labeled force march. This should allow players to gamble and force march a unit to a position on the map and accept the fatigue penalty to get there faster.

Does anyone (programmer or otherwise) think this would be a good addition to the game? It seems feasible and more than a little intriguing to me.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2020 6:30 pm 

Of course. The mechanics of how it would work aren't really important. Persuading John to implement it is. Posting in forums doesn't usually do the trick.

Still, always good to get a discussion going in the Tavern.

Profile Send private message  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2020 12:34 am 

That would indeed be a nice addition.

"Where to stop? I don't know. At Hell, I expect."

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2020 3:13 pm 

To the best of my knowledge the only Tiller game that includes a force march option is the TWIE series.
In those some infantry units can force march at the risk of taking losses.

The McKeesport Union Guard

3/1/II
AotP

PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2020 7:36 am 

MG Mills, sir! <salute>