Napoleonic Wargame Club (NWC)

The Rhine Tavern

*   NWC   NWC Staff   NWC Rules   NWC (DoR) Records   About Us   Send Email Inquiry to NWC

*   La Grande Armée Quartier Général    La Grande Armée Officer Records    Join La Grande Armée

*   Allied Coalition   Allied Officers   Join Coalition

*   Coalition Armies:   Austro-Prussian-Swedish Army   Anglo Allied Army (AAA)   Imperial Russian Army

Forums:    ACWGC    CCC     Home:    ACWGC    CCC
It is currently Wed May 01, 2024 4:15 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Les Grognards
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 11:04 pm 

Gentlemen,
I am a returning officer of the Grande Armee, I have remained a member of the ACWGC but due to
time constraints I chose to stay with the ACWGC. I recently retired from the Okie National Guard
and now have more time without all the deployments (the brigade will again be in Afghanistan in a few months after pre-deployment training, some have 3 Iraqi and 3 Afghan deployments each in the last 10 years, not exactly weekend warriors).
Anyway, I have all the HPS and BG (Matrix) Napoleonic games (and Civil War), and noticed
"Les Grognards", I was impressed by the site, videos, screenshots, manual etc, saw it was sanctioned
by the club. I could not get the demo to download, kept timing out, but I purchased the deluxe edition,
around 90 Euros or $125, I should have inquired first from the club but what are the impressions of those that own this wargame. It is an attractive game, supported by forums, mods, editors, scenarios
but I am interested in our club members impressions of this game.
I will be grateful for any comments.

Post subject: Re: Les Grognards
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 11:25 am 

I remember you! Welcome back!!

I don't have the game. Not many folks in the club seem to in fact. I get the impression from others that it's attractive but still a bit buggy.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 1:04 pm 

The jury is still out on the game. However, you need to check this thread out: