Napoleonic Wargame Club
http://wargame.ch/board/nwc/

Pioneer Type Units (Engineers) and Skirmish Ability
http://wargame.ch/board/nwc/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=15280
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Bill Peters [ Thu Aug 27, 2015 10:02 am ]
Post subject:  Pioneer Type Units (Engineers) and Skirmish Ability

I was noting in an MP game I am in that one player is using the "Pioneer" type unit as skirmishers in combat.

Just a word of explanation on Pioneers and skirmish ability. They were given this ability to counter the losses we saw them sustaining from fire combat. So with the ability to deploy into skirmisher units they now can repair a bridge and sustain less losses.

The intent was never so that they could be used as light troops.

It is suggested that the players agree (house rule) to use Pioneer type units in their historical usage.

I am sorry that we cannot get them to "loophole" buildings or be added to an attack against a building and give the attack a small mod (say 10%). Just couldn't get that one added in ...

FYI for future games.

Author:  Cezary Pluskwa [ Thu Aug 27, 2015 11:10 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Pioneer Type Units (Engineers) and Skirmish Ability

Sirs,

but it is still a good option, that whole battalions of pioneers can divided into lonely companies. What else battalion of 200 engineers from Corps level and what else companies of the 80 soldiers allocated to the individual divisions from Corps. Such a company would symbolize the earthworks for the divisional artillery batteries, construction of a bridge or fort, setting up the camp, etc. :thumbsup:

Author:  Christian Hecht [ Thu Aug 27, 2015 3:10 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Pioneer Type Units (Engineers) and Skirmish Ability

Makes highly sense to let them suffer less casualties while working on a bridge, at that point they are surely do not represent a formed unit that makes a good target.
I have added that point to the house rule thread.

Author:  Bill Peters [ Thu Aug 27, 2015 7:00 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Pioneer Type Units (Engineers) and Skirmish Ability

One comment - the max stacking of counters in the hex means that less men will be taking up more room ... this account for the materials they are using to rebuild the bridge :frenchcool

And course you can always use other hexes next to the bridge for repair. You dont have to just use the bridge exit hexes for repair. If the unit is adjacent to the bridge it can repair it. :frenchhappy:

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/