Napoleonic Wargame Club

The Rhine Tavern

*   NWC   NWC Staff   NWC Rules   NWC (DoR) Records   About Us   Send Email Inquiry to NWC

*   La Grande Armée Quartier Général    La Grande Armée Officer Records    Join La Grande Armée

*   Allied Coalition   Allied Officers   Join Coalition

*   Coalition Armies:   Austro-Prussian-Swedish Army   Anglo Allied Army (AAA)   Imperial Russian Corps

 

Forums:    ACWGC    CCC     Home:    ACWGC    CCC
It is currently Sat Nov 28, 2020 9:17 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: A new Bug
PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2018 11:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 6:44 am
Posts: 76
Attachment:
turn 23 before attack.jpg


I am playing scenario 61 " Waterloo Campaign variant, Expansion Package Edition" of Waterloo vs Ed Balckburn , and in the last 2 turns somethins strange happened.

An Infantry btln attacked a cavalry squadron in open hex with a melee attack; and the following turn that happened again.

here are the pics of the problems:

From what i know this is never happened in my battles, in the last 10 years of playing;

it's a bug or is something new that i do not know?

The manual is clear at the point ( page 30 ) " Certain restrictions apply to units that are committed to a Melee attack. Fixed
and Routed units cannot Melee attack. Units must be Facing the hex they are
attacking. Infantry units cannot Melee attack mounted Cavalry, except in
Obstructed terrain."

can anyone help me pls?

If needed i can provide the pbem files with my pswd just to check the problem

thanks in advance


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: A new Bug
PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2018 12:12 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 10:55 am
Posts: 1128
Location: Bouches-de-l’Elbe
Interesting find, was the cavalry somehow in a special state like routed or disordered, not that this matters according to the rules but maybe something was special and that is why this was possible. I never saw infantry being able to attack mounted cavalry in the the open.

_________________
Général Christian Hecht
Commandant en Chef de la Grande Armée

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: A new Bug
PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2018 11:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 6:44 am
Posts: 76
the cavalry was in good order, no disordered, no routed or isolated, and as you can see was in clear terrain, both times.

This is very strange ; i tried to melee with my french btln a prussian cavalry but the game do not let me do it.

Hope that the bug will not show again, cause this is a huge battle and a thing like this can ruin it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: A new Bug
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2018 7:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2002 9:01 am
Posts: 1361
Location: USA
My recollection was the infantry moved one hex into a clear hex and meleed cavalry in a village hex. I don't know if there is any possibility for the map to appear differently. Antonio, can you do the scree shots in 2D as well?

_________________
General de Brigade, Ed Blackburn
13ème Régiment d'Infanterie Légère
1er Brigade, 1er Division,
5eme Corps d'Armée,
La Grande Armée

Bourbonnais sans tache


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: A new Bug
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2018 8:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 1:16 pm
Posts: 313
Location: New England, USA
check the map file and see if there is a "V" in the hex in question.

his map must be different than yours.

_________________
C.N.Matthews


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: A new Bug
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2018 9:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 1:16 pm
Posts: 313
Location: New England, USA
I have noticed in some of my games that certain terrain was showing as "clear". But, if I clicked on it it was "orchard".

I have seen that in "Jena" and "Leipzig".

_________________
C.N.Matthews


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: A new Bug
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2018 11:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 6:44 am
Posts: 76
here are 2 screenshots of 2D map;

the first is of turn 23 , for me the hex is 350,221 and is a clear one

the second is 348,227 and is a clear one too.

Clint

i opened the belgium.map file with the block notes but i do not know hot to check that single hex.....if you can tell me how to do....

i had to reduce the file of the screenshots cause they are more than 1,5 Mb, i can attach only 225 one, so you cannot see the hex number from the screenshot

Ed i used the file that you send me just now but is always the same result


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: A new Bug
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2018 11:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2001 10:57 am
Posts: 2160
Location: Canada
Send this to jts support

_________________
Monsieur le Maréchal John Corbin
GrandeDuc de Piave et Comte de Beauvais
Retired


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: A new Bug
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2018 8:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2002 9:01 am
Posts: 1361
Location: USA
I think we found the issue, even though I ran the latest update from JTS my map files are still 2004/2005 generation. Antonio has newer maps. The question is why and where are the newer maps from? Or is there a problem with me and the update?

_________________
General de Brigade, Ed Blackburn
13ème Régiment d'Infanterie Légère
1er Brigade, 1er Division,
5eme Corps d'Armée,
La Grande Armée

Bourbonnais sans tache


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: A new Bug
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2018 11:34 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 10:55 am
Posts: 1128
Location: Bouches-de-l’Elbe
Game installed into the "Program Files" folder? That always causes trouble and a different folder should be used.

_________________
Général Christian Hecht
Commandant en Chef de la Grande Armée

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: A new Bug
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2018 11:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 6:44 am
Posts: 76
we found the problem

my belgium.map file is done 16\10\2009 and its hash number is "ee2883dca5b448b4d2734faef46d6350 "

while Ed has a belgium.map file done 03\03\2004 and its hash number is "5f1ec6033c6676118f80a5edd9a928cc"

so the problem is that we have 2 different belgium.map file.

But i really do not remember where i get the new file.

Can anyone help us to solve this?

thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: A new Bug
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2018 12:15 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 10:55 am
Posts: 1128
Location: Bouches-de-l’Elbe
I would reinstall and check step by step:
1. Install game and check the map.
2. Install the latest patch and check the map.
Somewhere along this the maps must be different and that either because a different installer is used or a different patch is used. It both isn't the case we are back to the patch no being applied correctly because of OS restrictions.

_________________
Général Christian Hecht
Commandant en Chef de la Grande Armée

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: A new Bug
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2018 12:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 6:44 am
Posts: 76
Christian
thanks for your help

i think that the fastest way is to check someother belgium.map file with the WinMD5Free program and check which of the hash numbers that i posted is correct.

Do not know which one is the right file, mine or Ed.

I suspect mine cause is newer but i am not sure.

Before i start to update\reinstall the game i want to be sure to have the wrong files; i have many mods and many expasions in the waterloo directory and do not want to waste half day to reinstall it. :( :(


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: A new Bug
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2018 4:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2002 9:01 am
Posts: 1361
Location: USA
My games are not installed under program files, I created new directories for them with full rights. I will ask JTS if their updated map files in their latest patch, it so then something is wrong om my side with the update process. I originally bought the game from HPS and used their updates. I will reinstall as well. Thanks for the help.

_________________
General de Brigade, Ed Blackburn
13ème Régiment d'Infanterie Légère
1er Brigade, 1er Division,
5eme Corps d'Armée,
La Grande Armée

Bourbonnais sans tache


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: A new Bug
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2018 9:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 1:16 pm
Posts: 313
Location: New England, USA
the latest Waterloo version should be 1.07 and the belgium map file should be dated 10/16/2009

this version is the JTS update

that's what I have.

_________________
C.N.Matthews


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
POWERED_BY
Localized by Maël Soucaze © 2010 phpBB.fr