Napoleonic Wargame Club
http://wargame.ch/board/nwc/

Cav charging
http://wargame.ch/board/nwc/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=16098
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Steve Jones [ Sun Oct 21, 2018 7:08 am ]
Post subject:  Cav charging

I suppose I confuse easily. By the manual "user.pdf" :

Cavalry Charges:

For a Cavalry Charge to occur, the following rules must hold:

• The defending units must not consist entirely of Infantry in Square
formation with Leaders and/or Cavalry. However, if only Skirmishers,
Artillery, and Supply Wagons occupy the defending hex with Infantry in
Square, then the charge is negated.


So, a inf. unit in Square MUST have a leader in the same hex to negate a charge? Infantry in square with no leader can be charged WITH the charge modifier, correct?

Calvary units alone (that is the hex only contains cav. units) that is charged are meleed without the charge bonus, correct?

Author:  Geoff McCarty [ Sun Oct 21, 2018 7:42 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Cav charging

The cavalry charge multiplier is negated by units which are in square formation or units that are cavalry. A leader does not affect a square formation's negation of the charge multiplier. Continue charge effect isn't negated though if the cavalry manage to win a "charge" against units in square (requring 0 losses) or cavalry defenders.

Author:  Steve Jones [ Thu Oct 25, 2018 12:24 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Cav charging

Steve Jones wrote:
I suppose I confuse easily. By the manual "user.pdf" :

Cavalry Charges:

For a Cavalry Charge to occur, the following rules must hold:

• The defending units must not consist entirely of Infantry in Square
formation with Leaders and/or Cavalry. However, if only Skirmishers,
Artillery, and Supply Wagons occupy the defending hex with Infantry in
Square, then the charge is negated.


So, a inf. unit in Square MUST have a leader in the same hex to negate a charge? Infantry in square with no leader can be charged WITH the charge modifier, correct?

Calvary units alone (that is the hex only contains cav. units) that is charged are meleed without the charge bonus, correct?


- - - - - - - - - - - -
But Geoff, and I thank you for the reply, that is NOT what this rule says - which I got from my RBR user.pdf, so presumably, the most current revision.


I do wish perhaps some of the older hands might chip in.

And what about the line that says, if I read it correctly, that if an infantry unit is in square and has an artillery unit, a skirmisher, or a supply wagon (?????) then the charge is negated. Okay, I can somewhat understand that if an artillery unit is stacked with an infantry unit in square, that should negate the charge. But Supply wagons ???? Skirmishers ???

Or am I totally misreading this important bit in the user manual?

Author:  Geoff McCarty [ Thu Oct 25, 2018 12:48 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Cav charging

Infantry in square formation and cavalry will negate a charging strength multiplier irrespective of leaders, skirmishers, artillery, or supply wagons within the same hex. May not be what the manual actually says but, that is the way it is.

Author:  Gary McClellan [ Thu Oct 25, 2018 2:50 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Cav charging

Steve, gonna have to break out BAGD for this one :)

(Yeah, not the best written rule, to be sure. It flips from a negative to a positive definition halfway through.)

So to parse it out and hopefully clarify it.

For a Cavalry Charge to occur, the following rules must hold:

• The defending units must not consist entirely of Infantry in Square
formation with Leaders and/or Cavalry.


Thus, you only get a Charge (and the charge bonus) if the hex is NOT either Squared Infantry or Cavalry. In both of those cases, you don't get the Charge bonus.

However, if only Skirmishers,
Artillery, and Supply Wagons occupy the defending hex with Infantry in
Square, then the charge is negated.


This one then sets out the exceptions to the above rule, that is to say, these units being in a hex with a squared infantry do not negate the square's ability to negate the charge.

Thus, if a Cav unit or an infantry unit in line or column is in a hex with a square, then you get the full benefit of the charge, otherwise you don't.

Author:  Gary McClellan [ Thu Oct 25, 2018 2:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Cav charging

Steve Jones wrote:
Steve Jones wrote:
I suppose I confuse easily. By the manual "user.pdf" :

And what about the line that says, if I read it correctly, that if an infantry unit is in square and has an artillery unit, a skirmisher, or a supply wagon (?????) then the charge is negated. Okay, I can somewhat understand that if an artillery unit is stacked with an infantry unit in square, that should negate the charge. But Supply wagons ???? Skirmishers ???

Or am I totally misreading this important bit in the user manual?


You're reading it right. The standard practice in that era would be for any skirmishers to run and hide inside of a square if they were threatened by Cavalry. That's one of the reasons that even massed skirms would generally have formed units in support nearby.

I do find the supply wagons thing a bit iffier personally. I can see the teamsters making a run for the square, but getting the wagons there would be a hair harder.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/