Napoleonic Wargame Club (NWC)

The Rhine Tavern

*   NWC   NWC Staff   NWC Rules   NWC (DoR) Records   About Us   Send Email Inquiry to NWC

*   La Grande Armée Quartier Général    La Grande Armée Officer Records    Join La Grande Armée

*   Allied Coalition   Allied Officers   Join Coalition

*   Coalition Armies:   Austro-Prussian-Swedish Army   Anglo Allied Army (AAA)   Imperial Russian Army

Forums:    ACWGC    CCC     Home:    ACWGC    CCC
It is currently Sat May 04, 2024 10:27 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Line vs Column and mods
PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 6:00 pm 
Hello all,

I have been playing the HPS series for several months now. Initially I was having a blast with PBEM. Unfortunately, the longer I played, the more I discovered what I felt were serious flaws in simulating Napoleonic warfare.

My first major discovery was that lines cannot stop columns. This discovery lead to the realization that only one major infantry tactic seems necessary to win-the massive column battering lines through melee. The 2000 man column rarely loses. It inflicts heavy losses on any defender and the defenders fatigue is typically concentrated in one unit. The attackers fatigue is usually spread out amongst the multiple attackers. It is a devastating formation without a real counter except opposing 2000 man columns launching their own melees. The game seems almost a one tactic game which heavily leans toward the offense.

Then I noticed artillery is relatively useless in terms of moderate range bombardments. Also artillery will rarely stop a well planned charge either. Nice to have within the game but not really much more than a nuisance currently, IMO.